Jeff Goldblum Talks INDEPENDENCE DAY 2

I never thought i’d say this, but are you guys ready for Independence Day 2? Yep I said it.

Original director, Roland Emmerich, and producing partner, Dean Devlin, are back, and it sounds like Jeff Goldblum will be back as the irritating environmentalist ‘David Levinson. Jeff Goldblum talked a bit to Time Magazine about the possibility of starring in another Independence Day movie.

TIME: It seems like there’s been a lot going around in the last few months about potential sequels for Jurassic Park and Independence Day, so I was wondering whether those were things that you’d given any thought to or might be involved with?

JEFF GOLDBLUM: Well, people like that Jurassic Park thing, and I think they’re making another which I tell them, I’ll be first in line for, but am not in. And then Independence Day, I had a meeting and have been talking over the last several months or year with Roland Emmerich and Dean Devlin, the producer, and they’ve been cooking up and say they have a part for me in what they hope will be a plan to make another one pretty soon.

TIME: Right. When I looked into it a bit, I saw something from a year ago saying, “Oh, maybe some people are working on it, but maybe not Will Smith,” but all of that always seems so nebulous until it actually happens.

JEFF GOLDBLUM: I think you’ve put your finger on it. “Nebulous until actually” is what that file is under, but yeah, they’re still talking about it and I’ve heard recent rumblings here and there about it, and “Oh, there’s a scripting coming in” — maybe last weekend there was a script handed in, so it’s brewing.

Well there ya have it folks – another Independence day movie, minus Will Smith. Let’s get nostalgic for a bit and watch the trailer for the first movie shall we?

Source: time.com

Leave a Reply

